Italian Culture

References

play_circle_filled

Author: Nina Evason, 2015


  • Central Intelligence Agency. (2016). The World Factbook: Italy. Retrieved from https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/geos/it.html.
  • COMMISCEO Global. (2016). Italy Guide. Retrieved from http://www.commisceo-global.com/country-guides/italy-guide.
  • Countries and their Cultures. (n.d.). Italy. Retrieved from http://www.everyculture.com/Ge-It/Italy.html.
  • Department of Immigration and Citizenship. (2015). Community Information Summary: Italy-born. Retrieved from https://www.dss.gov.au/sites/default/files/documents/02_2014/italy.pdf.
  • Dresser, N. (1996). Multicultural Manners. New York: J. Wiley & Sons.
  • eDiplomat. (2016). Italy. Retrieved from http://www.ediplomat.com/np/cultural_etiquette/ce_it.htm.
  • Education First. (2015). EF EPI English Proficiency Index 2015: Italy. Retrieved from http://www.ef.edu/epi/regions/europe/italy/.
  • Fact Monster. (n.d.). Italy. Retrieved from http://www.factmonster.com/ipka/A0107658.html.
  • Geert Hofstede. (2016). Italy. Retrieved from http://geert-hofstede.com/italy.html.
  • Global Affairs Canada. (2014). Cultural Information - Italy. Retrieved from https://www.international.gc.ca/cil-cai/country_insights-apercus_pays/ci-ic_it.aspx?lang=eng#cn-2.
  • Just Landed. (2010). Social customs in Italy. Retrieved from https://www.justlanded.com/english/Italy/Articles/Culture/Social-customs-in-Italy.
  • Khalidi, S, F. McIlroy and H. Neumayer. (2012). The Cultural Dictionary and Directory. Canberra: Migrant and Refugee Settlement Services of the ACT Inc.
  • Lewis, R. D. (2006). When Cultures Collide. Boston: Nicholas Brealey International.
  • Life in Italy. (2015). Italian Families: Then and Now. Retrieved from http://www.lifeinitaly.com/italian-families-then-and-now.
  • Tosolini, F. (2007). The Etiquette of Gift Giving in Italy. Retrieved from http://italyfromtheinside.com/2007/01/the-etiquette-of-gift-giving-in-italy.html.
  • Transparency International. (2015). Italy. Retrieved from http://www.transparency.org/country/#ITA.
  • Worldometers. (2016). Countries in the world by population. Retrieved from http://www.worldometers.info/world-population/population-by-country/.
  • Zullo, R. (2013). Customs and Etiquette in Italy. Retrieved from http://rickzullo.com/customs-etiquette-italy/.
Italy
  • Population
    61,070,224
    0.84% of World Population
  • Languages
    Italian (official)
    English
    French
    Spanish
    German
    Other regional dialects
  • Religions
    Christianity (80%)
    No Religion (20%)
    Islam (1.67%)
  • Ethnicities
    Italian
    Romanian
    Albanian
    Small groups of German, French, Slovenian, Greek
  • English Proficiency
    Well (54.02%)
  • Cultural Dimensions
    Power Distance 50
    Individualism 76
    Masculinity 70
    Uncertainty Avoidance 75
    Long Term Orientation 61
    Indulgence 30
    What's this?
  • Australians with Italian Ancestry
    916,121
Italians in Australia
  • Population
    174,042
    [2016 census]
  • Average Age
    68
  • Gender
    Male (51.1%)
    Female (48.9%)
  • Religion
    Catholic Christianity (91%)
    No Religion (3.3%)
    Jehovah's Witnesses (0.9%)
    Other (2.6%)
  • Ancestry
    Italian (93.1%)
    English (1.1%)
    Australian (0.7%)
    Other (2.5%)
  • Languages
    Italian (80.8%)
    English (17.8%)
    Spanish (0.2%)
    Other (0.7%)
  • English Proficiency
    Well (74.3%)
    Not Well (24.2%)
  • Diaspora
    Victoria (41.5%)
    New South Wales (27.8%)
    South Australia (11.2%)
    Western Australia (10.5%)
  • Arrival to Australia
    Prior to 2001 (89.7%)
    2001-2006 (1.4%)
    2006-2011 (2%)
Where do we get our statistics?
Country IT Flag