South Korean Culture

References

play_circle_filled
  • Central Intelligence Agency. (2016). The World Factbook: South Korea. Retrieved from https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/geos/ks.html.
  • COMMISCEO Global. (2016). South Korea Guide. Retrieved from http://www.commisceo-global.com/country-guides/south-korea-guide.
  • Countries and their Cultures. (n.d.). South Korea. Retrieved from http://www.everyculture.com/Ja-Ma/South-Korea.html.
  • Culture Crossing Guide. (2014). South Korea. Retrieved from http://guide.culturecrossing.net/basics_business_student_details.php?Id=7&CID=110.
  • Department of Immigration and Citizenship. (2015). Community Information Summary: The Republic of (South) Korea-born. Retrieved from https://www.dss.gov.au/sites/default/files/documents/02_2014/korea.pdf.
  • Dresser, N. (1996). Multicultural Manners. New York: J. Wiley & Sons.
  • Education First. (2015). EF EPI English Proficiency Index 2015: South Korea. Retrieved from http://www.ef.edu/epi/regions/asia/south-korea/.
  • Geert Hofstede. (2016). South Korea. Retrieved from http://geert-hofstede.com/south-korea.html.
  • Yang Sun Geun, Y. S. (2002). Chaemyoun-Saving (Face Saving) due to Korean Job Loss: Listening to Men's Voices'. Journal of Comparative Family Studies, 33, 73-95.Global Affairs Canada. (2014). Cultural Information - South Korea. Retrieved from http://www.intercultures.ca/cil-cai/ci-ic-eng.asp?iso=kr#cn-1.
  • Ha, J. S., and J. Park. (2011). An Investigation Of Korean Youth Subculture Styles Of The 2000s. International Review Of Social Sciences And Humanities, 1 no. 2, 1-16.
  • Investopedia. (n.d.). Chaebol Structure. Retrieved from http://www.investopedia.com/terms/c/chaebol-structure.asp.
  • Khalidi, S, F. McIlroy and H. Neumayer. (2012). The Cultural Dictionary and Directory. Canberra: Migrant and Refugee Settlement Services of the ACT Inc.
  • Kim, S. N. (2008). Divorce In Contemporary Korea: Individualization, Intimacy And Gender. The Centre For Women's Studies.
  • Kocken, M. (2014). Insider Perspective: Seven Reasons Why Korea Has the Worst Productivity in the OECD. Retrieved from http://www.businesskorea.co.kr/english/oped/opinions/3698-insider-perspective-seven-reasons-why-korea-has-worst-productivity-oecd.
  • Learn Korean Language. (2007). Korean Culture. Retrieved from http://www.learnkoreanlanguage.com/Korean-Culture.html.
  • Lewis, R. D. (2006). When Cultures Collide. Boston: Nicholas Brealey International.
  • Rough Guides. (n.d.). South Korea // Culture and Etiquette. Retrieved from http://www.roughguides.com/destinations/asia/south-korea/culture-etiquette/.
  • Sorenson, C. W. (2016). The Value and Meaning of the Korean Family. Retrieved from http://asiasociety.org/education/value-and-meaning-korean-family.
  • Transparency International. (2015). South Korea. Retrieved from http://www.transparency.org/country/#KOR.
  • UKTI. (n.d.). Doing Business in South Korea. Retrieved from http://www.southkorea.doingbusinessguide.co.uk/the-guide/south-korean-culture/.
  • United Kingdom Government. (2006). A Guide to Names and Naming Practices. Retrieved from https://www.fbiic.gov/public/2008/nov/Naming_practice_guide_UK_2006.pdf.
  • Worldometers. (2016). Countries in the world by population. Retrieved from http://www.worldometers.info/world-population/population-by-country/.
South Korea
  • Population
    49,512,026
    0.68% of World Population
  • Languages
    Korean (official)
    English
  • Religions
    No Religion (43.3%)
    Christianity (31.6%)
    Buddhism (24.2%)
    Other (0.9%)
  • Ethnicities
    Korean (96%)
    Other (4%)
  • English Proficiency
    Well (54.52%)
  • Cultural Dimensions
    Power Distance 60
    Individualism 18
    Masculinity 39
    Uncertainty Avoidance 85
    Long Term Orientation 100
    Indulgence 29
    What's this?
  • Australians with Korean Ancestry
    88,973
Koreans in Australia
  • Population
    74,538
  • Average Age
    32
  • Gender
    Male (46.1%)
    Female (53.9%)
  • Religion
    No Religion (24.3%)
    Catholic Christianity (22.4%)
    Presbyterian and Reformed Christianity (21.6%)
    Uniting Church Christianity (10.1%)
    Other (21.5%)
  • Ancestry
    Korean (94.9%)
    English (1.4%)
    Australian (1%)
    Other (1.4%)
  • Languages
    Korean (89.3%)
    English (9.3%)
    Mandarin (0.3%)
    Other (0.7%)
  • English Proficiency
    Well (65.1)%)
    Not Well (33.5%)
  • Diaspora
    New South Wales (56.1%)
    Queensland (16.8%)
    Victoria (13.7%)
    Western Australia (5.5%)
  • Arrival to Australia
    Prior to 2001 (36.1%)
    2001-2006 (25%)
    2007-2011 (32.3%)
Where do we get our statistics?
Country KR Flag